Área Metropolitana de Lisboa

Área Metropolitana de Lisboa

Back to teams
Área Metropolitana de Lisboa

The Lisbon Metropolitan Area (AML) is an intermunicipal entity that includes 18 municipalities Alcochete, Almada, Amadora, Barreiro, Cascais, Lisbon, Loures, Mafra, Moita, Montijo, Odivelas, Oeiras, Palmela, Seixal, Sesimbra, Setúbal, Sintra and Vila Franca de Xira. AML has the largest population and economic concentration of Portugal. Its 18 municipalities represent 3.3% of the national territory, almost 3 million inhabitants and nearly 25% of the Portuguese population. On the economic level, it concentrates around 25% of the active population, 30% of national companies, 33% of employment and contributes with more than 36% to the national GDP.

With about 150 km of Atlantic coast and 200 km of riverside front, the AML presents a great morphological variety and abundant natural richness, which confers an environmental, landscape, economic and leisure potential that must be preserved and valued. It has two large estuaries: the Tejo and Sado, and five protected areas, integrated into the Natura 2000 network. AML is, for these and other reasons, a pleasant but challenging cyclable territory.

AML is increasingly becoming one of the most competitive regions for tourism, mainly based on its endogenous resources. AML is a region in constant development, where the innovation and technological development poles, the growth of competitive industries, the evolution of a specialized tertiary sector are gaining its recognition and facing new challenges, such as Sustainable Urban Mobility.

In response to this challenge, AML has developed its Sustainable Urban Mobility Action Plan, setting the investment priorities of its municipalities in six axes of intervention:

  1. Adapt the supply of public transport to the population mobility needs
  2. Reinforcing the intermodality of the transport system
  3. Strengthening metropolitan road network connectivity and rail modernization
  4. Strengthen the soft modes modal share
  5. Implement mobility management measures
  6. Improve the logistics performance system

The participation in the ECC 2017 is a metropolitan challenge towards promoting softer modes of transport!